DNS, DNF, or Personal Worst?

Looking towards tomorrow’s scheduled Half Marathon, those are the three likely scenarios.

My back is still giving me a lot of grief, but it is getting better. I have not done ANY exercise since Monday. I could barely stand up on Wednesday without assistance.

I figured the race would be my first ever DNS. I hated the thought of getting a DNS.

This morning, I am stiff and moving slowly, but I could likely do the race. I just don’t know if it would be wise. I don’t want to re-injure myself (especially since I have 3 triathlons and one duathlon coming up in the next 3 weeks). But, I think that I could handle a VERY slow recovery run.

If i run it, it will be my personal worst finish time.

The cutoff time is 3:30.

My PR is 1:44:03.

My current PW is 2:24:54 (lingering ankle injury and under-trained).

Unofficial PWs include the run leg of IM 70.3 Steelhead (2:40:32) and WDW Half (2:42:08…including a lot of waiting in line for photo stops).

Tomorrows race will likely dethrone all of the records.

But, tomorrow is not about speed. It’s about recovery. If I suspect that the race will set me back, I will take the DNS. If it is causing injury, I will take the DNF. Otherwise, I will have to see how slow I can go…image

1 Comment

Filed under Random Musings

One response to “DNS, DNF, or Personal Worst?

  1. You missed one……DFL! Prized possession/standing for some (me included)!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

