Race Report: Hot Chocolate 15K-Minneapolis

April 18, 2015.

It was a beautiful day for a run.

I should probably just end the race report right there.

Seriously.

It states everything that was important to me today.

The sun was out. Tempuratures in the low fifties to start, climbing up to about sixty. There was a slight breeze.

I ran in shorts and a t-shirt. I never felt cold. I never overheated. Sweat evaporated quickly since the air was dry. I never had to poor water over my head.

The race race was well organized. Plenty of aid stations and porta-potties. Volunteers were abundant, helpful, and in good spirits.

The expo was small, but energetic. I got in and out quickly (although I wish they had a mail out option…driving an hour each way is a hassle…). They included a very nice full zip hoodie (that will make for a nice pre/post run layer), and a hat that states “Will run for Chocolate” (which is very true, but I cannot see myself ever wearing…)

The course was flat. The roads were in rough shape from the winter (especially the last mile).

The “chocolate” on the course was disappointing (marshmallows, tootsie rolls, chocolate chips that tasted like wax). The chocolate at the finish line was awesome (hot chocolate and chocolate fondue in an oversized bowl with lots of dunkable goodies).

The finishers medal is one of the most unique that I have seen…it looks like a chocolate bar with a wrapper indicating the city and the race. The “foil” is partially pulled back and a bite has been taken from the corner. Bonus points for creativity. It is what got me to register for this event.

IMG_0023

I got a PR for the 15K. This was not a surprize since this was my first race at this distance. It was a decent time-1:22:55 (8:54/mile) which placed me in the top 19% overall (474/2491). Considering that 1) this was a taper run and 2) I have been struggling with speed and endurance all season, I was quite pleased with the outcome.

But, most importantly, I enjoyed this event. I enjoyed the freedom of running on a beautiful day, at whatever pace that felt right, and surrounded by so many others who are passionate about the sport.

It was a beautiful day for a run. That is really all that needed to be said…

Leave a comment

Filed under Race Reports

Leave a Reply

