Madison: Day 2

I slept great last night, and was up fairly early for the complementary hotel breakfast (love Belgium Waffles!)

A morning priority was to take another look at the bike course. There were a few areas of concern with the road conditions when I was out training over the summer. Mostly, there was some very fine loose gravel at 2 intersections. It is still an issue. I almost wiped out making that turn going 6 mph so I will have to be careful there. I also just got a reminder of the whole course layout. It is a very challenging course.

I got back to the hotel just in time to walk over to a free Endurance Nation lecture on IMOO racing strategies. Some was helpful, some I knew, some was pretty obvious. Overall, a good 90 minutes well spent. I walked back to the hotel via the Noodles & Company restaurant next to the hotel. More carb loading (Japenese Pan Noodles…Yum!).

I retrieved my wetsuit and headed to the swim start area for a practice swim. The water was perfect and quite calm (as is should be on race day). Sleeveless was ideal. Got a 1.25 mile swim for my official final workout (tomorrow will be another rest day).

Once back at the hotel, I showered off the green slime and got ready for the welcome banquet. The banquet was about what I expected. The food was so-so, and was solid carbs (bread salad, pasta, baked potatoes, breadsticks…and some token veggies). Mike Riley spoke (man he looks a lot older in person), and they showed a bunch of feel good videos.

Now, I have to organize my gear and special needs bags for tomorrow. Aside from checking in my bike and gear, tomorrow will be mellow…the calm before the storm.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Race Week

8 responses to “Madison: Day 2

  1. wow………………..this is quite an all encompassing event isn’t it? loved your take on all of it

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, they really play everything up as much as they can. Ironman has this thing down like a well oiled machine. It is very well organized. Everyone who has ever done one has told me to “take it all in” and that is exactly what I am trying to do…

      Like

      • And if you have time to recap the talk you heard, I was curious what some of the various categories were (learned, obvious and knew)

        Like

      • A lot of it was course specific. Since I have been on the course a few times and was familiar with it, it wasn’t news to me. The general stuff was x/b1.
        X: execution. 140 miles is to far to go to simply rely on fitness. Have a plan and execute it
        /: the line. The point at which the race starts to really suck (they claim about mile 18 on the run, I think it is mile 18 on the bike). Pushing yourself to hard too early just brings the line closer.
        B: the box. You only have control over what is in the box. Your training, your choices. You have no control over what is outside the box (weather, what others are doing, outcome). Ignore everything outside of your box
        1: the one thing. The reason why you are doing this race. Your legs will be screaming at your brain to stop. Your brain needs to be able to hold on to something really important to keep going.

        The other mantra they pushed wha that you have two selfs. You training self and your racing self. Your training self put in hundreds of hours and sacrificed a lot to get here. Make sure that your racing self honors your training self. When you have to push yourself thru hell in the last couple of hours, remember that it is just a couple of hours compared to the hundreds that your training self went thru. Your racing self owes your training self everything it’s got…

        Like

  2. Hey! They will sweep the bike course of gravel the morning of the race before y’all come through, so you shouldn’t have to worry about that. Some of the roads on the bike are rough (pavement) because of the polar vortex last winter, though. I’ll be volunteering at bike aid station #4 — see you there and good luck!

    Like

    • I figured it was too early for the sweepers to have done their thing yet. But I don’t see what they can do for the two Garfoot/Mineral Lane intersections. It looks like the fine gravel IS the road. I am also nervous abou railroad tracks that cross the road at 45 degree angles. Seen too many people go down hard on those. Guess I just know where to slow down and be extra careful (like the tight right turn on the downhill on Garfoot).

      Like

Leave a Reply

