Flashback Fridays 28: Full Circle

February 10, 2014-Started 30 week Ironman training program.

February 14, 2014-Started “Road To Madison” blog.

This was my first time following a formal training program. I was inspired to blog about it by a fellow runner. I had no delusions that anyone would actually read it, but this was mostly a training log to help keep me accountable. It was probably the best thing I ever did. So many times, I considered skipping a workout or taking the easy way out. But, knowing that I would have to be accountable for that on this blog, I crawled out of bed and trained. Looking back at my posts reminds me of my journey and how far I have come. The whole thing just helped to keep me motivated and moving forward.

Flashback Fridays was a nice trip down memory lane, and it also helped remind me of all of the changes that I have made. But, the backstory has been fully told. From obese couch potato to Ironman hopeful, Flashback Friday has been my tale up to the start of this blog, and the rest of the entries tell the rest of the story. Flashback Fridays will now be retired, since there is nothing more to tell. There is only one more chapter…and it has not yet been written. Next week, I will be in Madison making final preparations and blogging all about it.

For those who have followed my journey, I thank you for your interest and your feedback. Whatever happens next week, this journey has been worth it. And the end is in sight. I am measuring success by crossing the starting like. Everything after that will be a celebration of my journey. Every stroke, every step, every stride will be my victory. And, if all goes well, I will be an Ironman…

Leave a comment

Filed under Flashback

Leave a Reply

