Flashback Fridays 23: Committing to Ironman Wisconsin

September 16, 2013.

Click.

Refresh.

11:58 am.

Click.

Refresh.

“Opening Soon”

Click.

A week had passed since Ironman 70.3 Muskoka.

Click.

For two years, I had been undecided about whether or not I should do this…or could do this.

“Opening Soon”

I had dreamed about it. I have had nightmares too. Lots of uncertainty and doubt…

11:59am

This last year had been a test. Four marathon, two century rides, multi-day endurance events…

Click.

…and three Ironman 70.3.

Refresh.

Kansas proved I could take the heat. Racine proved that I could take the waves. And Muskoka proved that I could handle the toughest bike course.

“Opening Soon”

I had passed every challenge. But, here I am, at my computer, hoping that I have the chance to register and still wondering if this such a good idea.

12:00

Will I be able to stick to the training?

Click.

Am I really an athlete now? Or am I kidding myself?

Refresh.

Why am I doing this?

“Ironman Wisconsin-Registration Open-Click Here”

I can’t think about this anymore. Time to make a choice…

.

..

…click.

Leave a comment

Filed under Flashback

Leave a Reply

