Flashback Fridays 15: The Rehab Races

March-May 2013.

I had a few minor races scheduled for spring 2013. Get Lucky Half Marathon (March), Goldy’s Run 10 Miler (April), and the Lake Minnetonka Half Marathon (May).

These were filler material “C” races. They could not have come at a better time. With my Posterior Tibial Tendon “shredding” and new orthotics, I needed some low key rehab.

But I also had Grandma’s Marathon and Ironman 70.3 Kansas coming in June. If this didn’t work, my season (and everything I worked so hard for) was in jeopardy.

These filler races did not go well.

Very slow times. Very painful foot. Each race was just worse then the other.

I was losing my passion and my interest.

I was very discouraged.

I was not having surgery, but I would not keep running like this.

In desperation, I thought back to the last time my foot felt normal. It was with my old beat up pair of shoes with the holes in them.

Can’t make things any worse…

I tossed the wide shoes and the orthotics, laced up junk pair and headed out the front door.

The improvement was almost immediate. It was the best I felt after a short training run in the past several months. The problem wasn’t gone. Not by any stretch of the imagination. But it didn’t hurt (much) to run, and my foot wasn’t in agony afterwards…just the baseline pain and weakness that I was used too.

If wasn’t a cure, but may keep me going for now.

A few more runs and the same results.

I was enjoying myself again, and looking forward to it again.

Good thing…the real season was about to start…

Epilogue: It has been a year. I ran most of last year in a couple of extremely beat up shoes with huge holes in them. I could not use clipless bike pedals since I could not unclip. But the problem resolved. At the end of the year, I had to break in a new pair of shoes. It went without incident. It took a year, but I am finally symptom free. I know that the damage to the tendon is still there. It could flair up at any time. If it tears, my running days are over. So, every run is a gift. Every race is a joy. I scheduled Ironman Wisconsin for this year since I may not be physically able to run it in the future. I want to take my shot…while I still can.

1 Comment

Filed under Flashback

One response to “Flashback Fridays 15: The Rehab Races

  1. I hope you can keep running, but I like your attitude about doing something while you can, that’s great advice for everything in life. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

