Training Week #10 (Triathlon Base Training/Marathon Peak Training)

When I signed up for this 30 week training plan, I knew that there were some non-triathlon events that would affect my training. There would be some weeks where I would not be able to complete the workouts. This was one of those weeks. To be honest, I was presently surprised that I completed what I did.

Every 10 years, I need to sit my medical board exams. I need to pass them to keep my job and my licence. The exam last a whole day and covers everything. I had to sit the exam this week. To be honest, I am shocked that I was able to get the training in for the previous 9 weeks, get the studying in, get my sleep and fulfill my work responsibilities (I have to admit…my wife barely sees me…that is something that I must correct now).

With the boards being the focus this week, everything else was secondary. I did not get up early on exam day to workout, and was too tired to do it after. I missed a swim session (at this point, they are the least critical workouts) and a spin session (more important, but not a game breaker at this stage). I was going to make up the swim today, but it is Easter and the pool is closed. Oh well, it is was it is.

today was a beautiful day for a run, and I also tried some electrolyte tablets for the first time. Ended up running 21 miles and feeling strong at the end. I think they helped. I did not plan on a 21 mile run 2 weeks before a marathon, but I just did not want to stop!

Next few weeks will be funky for training as well. First outdoor ride (possible century ride…but likely not) next week, and a marathon the week after (will certainly miss one workout day due to traveling). So, I will plan as best I can, and make sure I don’t let it derail my program long term…

The Plan:
Monday-Rest
Tuesday-1:00 swim/1:00 run
Wednesday-0:45 bike/0:30 run (with transition)
Thursday-1:00 swim/1:15 bike
Friday-1:00 run
Saturday-3:00 bike
Sunday-1:30 run

2 hour swim, 4:30 hour bike, 3:30 hour run
Total-11 hours/9 activities

What I did:
Monday-0:45 bike/0:27 run (11.0 miles/3.1 miles)
Tuesday-Rest
Wednesday-1:00 swim/1:02 run (1.5 miles/6.3 miles)
Thursday-3:05 bike/0:27 run (45 miles/3.1 miles)
Friday-0:58 run (6.2 miles)
Saturday-Rest (Board Exam)
Sunday-3:36 run (21.0 miles)

Weekly Total
1:00 swim, 3:50 bike, 6:30 run (% change from week 9: -50%, -20.7%, -3.9%)
1.5 mile swim, 56.0 mile bike, 39.7  mile run (% change from week 9:  -50%, -21.3%, -o.8%)
Total-11:20 hours/97.2 miles/8 activities

Grand Totals:
Swim-19:00 hours/28.5 miles
Bike-43:44 hours/626.3 miles
Run 63:56 hours/376.7 miles
Total-126:40 hours/1031.5 miles

20 weeks to go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Training

Leave a Reply

