Training Week #7 (Triathlon Base Training/Marathon Peak Training)

Well, marathon preparation continue to dominate my training. Trying to inch my way to 50+ mile/week before a start my taper. Also trying to have a 20+ mile long run each week pre-taper. Was able to get back outside with all the pros (less boring, better scenery, less crowded) and cons (cold, windy, hills, dogs, cars). Got a 10k run in shortened by 2 dogs and cold wind. Sunday was the first day of spring-like weather and a chance to get a really nice outdoor run in (before the Monday blizzard hits). Overall, it has been a good week. Next week will be odd. Active recovery week for triathlon plan/peak training for the marathon. I think I will leave the swim the same, cut way back on bike training, and ramp up running. Will likely keep this ratio until marathon taper starts and will kick up the biking at that point. The week after the marathon, I will be visiting family and my training will suffer-so that will be my true recovery week.

The Plan:
Monday-Rest
Tuesday-1:00 swim, 1:00 run
Wednesday-0:45 bike/0:15 run (with transition)
Thursday-1:00 swim/1:00 bike
Friday-1:15 run
Saturday-2:30 bike
Sunday-1:15 run

2 hour swim, 4:15 hour bike, 3:45 hour run
Total-10 hours/9 activities

What I did:
Monday-0:45 bike/0:20 run (11 miles/2 miles)
Tuesday-Rest
Wednesday-1:00 swim/1:38 run (1.5 miles/10 miles)
Thursday-1:01 bike/0:31 run (15 miles/3.1 miles)
Friday-1:00 swim/0:59 run (1.5 miles/5.8 miles)
Saturday-2:44 bike/0:30 run (40 miles/3.1 miles)
Sunday-4:05 run (23 miles)

Weekly Total
2:00 swim, 4:30 bike, 8:03 run (% change from week 6: 0%, -12.9%, +19%)
3 mile swim, 66 mile bike, 47 mile run (% change from week 6: 0%, -13.2%, +15.5%)
Total-14.33 hours/116 miles/11 activities

Grand Totals:
Swim-14 hours/21 miles
Bike-31:13 hours/442 miles
Run 38:53 hours/230.5 miles
Total-84:06 hours/693.5 miles

23 weeks to go.

2 Comments

Filed under Training

2 responses to “Training Week #7 (Triathlon Base Training/Marathon Peak Training)

  1. Wow, nice running! (running is all I’m able to comment on, I’m pretty clueless on swimming and biking).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am very pleased with the run right now. I have never logged this kind of mileage before a marathon. The bike and run are pretty much on plan for the triathlon, but are not impressive numbers. Hard to put up big numbers on a bike trainer. I am hoping to get my bike out onto the road during my first week of marathon taper. Should see a significant bump in cycling what I am running less and can cycle outside. I have a century ride scheduled for the week before the marathon. It’s nice because of it ‘s clover leaf design. You do a leg and come back to a central rest point. If you do all the legs, then you will have biked over 100 miles. I did it last year (late spring…first time I could get the bike out…and completed 53 miles). I would be happy with something like that again this year.

      Last year, my routine long bike was a 60 mile circuit. I will need to bump that up if I am to ride 112 miles before running a marathon…

      Like

Leave a Reply

