My Two-Year “Runniversary”…

On February 15 2012, I walked into The Running Room for the first time to get a real pair of running shoes. I have never run before. It showed. I went directly from work. Shirt. Tie. Suit. Dress shoes. Dress socks. I was so clueless. I was also fairly convinced that I was wasting my time and money.

I was challenged by Weight Watchers to run a 5K. I didn’t want to do it. I knew I would hate it. But I did it anyways.
That was the start.
Eleven months later, I saw my first Runniversary coming up and was shocked that I was still doing it. It was a big deal to me. It still seemed to be something so fragile, and so likely to disappear like a mirage, or a rainbow. Having it last as long as it did was shocking.
This year, on the other hand, I completely forgot about it. I just remembered today (as I was running in tiny little circles again). It made me wonder why it was such a big deal a year ago, and rather insignificant now.
The only answer that I could come up with was fairly significant…far more significant then the anniversary.
Running has just become a part of my life. I no longer question it. I no longer seem surprised that I am still doing it. I no longer wonder if I will still be running when I sign up for an event.
It has become like driving, working, or sleeping. It just is a part of my life. It is just is part on the fabric of my identity. It is part of what makes me who I am.
I am a runner.
It took awhile for that fact to become engrained into my psyche. But it is there now.
The anniversary is no longer important or relevant to me. The reason why it isn’t relevant anymore is profoundly important to me.
Running is a part of me. It just is. And that is not fragile anymore.
It is not a mirage. It is not a rainbow.
And it will not disappear.
2 Comments

Filed under Random Musings

2 responses to “My Two-Year “Runniversary”…

  1. Someone on one of the lists I subscribe to said “when running becomes the rule, not the exception, then you’re a runner.” Congrats, sounds like you’re there.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Brilliant well done, although you don’t congratulate yourself because, as you say, its part of your process and life now, remember how far you’ve come – great blog

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

