Training-The 30 Week Plan

Well, I have never followed a training plan. But, for a Full Ironman, I thought that I should start. I looked at a lot of them, but “Be Iron Fit” by Don Fink kept rising to the top. Many have followed the plan and swear by it. It has 3 different intensity levels (“Competitive”, “Intermediate”, and “Just Finish”) This allows you to select the time commitment that works for you. I will start out the the competitive plan, but may drop down if I struggle to keep up.

There are 4 phases to the plan. The 10 week “Base” phase, the 10 week “Build” phase, and the 10 week “Peak” phase. Plan averages 12 hours/week and peaks at 20 hours/week. I will likely being doing more at first since I have a spring marathon and will need more running then the plan provides. By comparison, the “Just Finish” plan calls for 7 hours/week on average and peaks at 10 hours/week.

So, each week, I will posting a summary of what I needed to do, and what I actually accomplished. These will usually go up on Sunday. If anyone has any experience with this plan, please feel free to contribute.

3 Comments

Filed under Training

3 responses to “Training-The 30 Week Plan

  1. Good for you. I’m in the same boat in many respects. Good luck with your training and if you have any tips please share share share – I will too if anything seems to work especially well.
    Happy training

    Like

  2. Hey! Iv really enoyed your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

